LGTBQ Alumni Association

Welcome to LGBTQ Alumni Association!

The purpose of our group is to help encourage connections among our alumni and to offer opportunities and support to current LGBTQ students. To learn more about how to get involved with this alumni association, please join our mailing list by CLICKING HERE

Get social:   images


President: Kevin Hamby (’06)

Vice President: Shawn Keuhn (’10|’13)

Secretary: Jenna Pel (’13)

Treasurer: Stacy Peterson (’08)

Social Media/Marketing: Jesse Hudgens (’13)

Past President/Founder: Nick Brines (’92)

Director of Membership: Stacy Peterson (’08)

Director of Social Media/Marketing: Craig Cheeseman (’92)

Director of Student Engagement: Shawn Jivani (’10)

Director of Scholarship and Emergency Crisis Fund: Kelli Vorish (’09)

Director of Fundraising: Patrick Torma (’09)

Director of Networking Events: Patrick Torma (’09)

Director of On Campus Activities: Rosy Mota (’13)

Director of Young Alumni Engagement: Stephen Heck (’16)

Director of LGBT Community Visibility: Evan Manuel (’17)

Events and Programs

Red Dinner III


Red Dinner is the annual fundraising gala for the University of Houston LGBTQ Alumni Association benefiting UH students who have been financially affected as a result of their sexual orientation, gender identity or expression.  The funds raised at the Red Dinner directly help reduce the economic impact to UH LGBTQ students whose families terminate financial support when they “come out” as their authentic persons. The UH LGBTQ Alumni Association also provides annual academic student scholarships.

Saturday, May 19th, 2018
O’Quinn Great Hall (University of Houston Alumni-Athletic Center)

This scholarship aims to encourage LGBTQ students to pursue studies at the University through this Scholarship Program.  Each scholarship is a one-time award in the amount of ($250 each semester) or one $500 award paid in the Fall semester (if the student is graduating in the fall semester). The application will go live for the 2018-2019 academic year in January.